The story of the Saint-Alexandre Pub

In 1946, the Colonial Tavern opened its doors in this enclosure which for years became the trendy meeting place for students at Laval University. In 1987, when the Barré family redefined the vocation of the establishment, they then introduced beers from all over the world and a cuisine offering regional specialties worthy of the noblest brews. As for the decoration, it is inviting and warm: mahogany woodwork, mirrors, a bar of a dozen meters.

 

But we must rename the old tavern on St-Jean street. One evening, at dinner, the family proceeds to a traditional round table. And from round to round to round, the little Alexandre, 3 years old, insisted and proposed his name: Alexandre! Alexandre! does he exclaim each time his turn comes. This is the story of how we called the SAINT-ALEXANDRE PUB. But history does not confirm whether little Alexandre has become a saint!

 

FROM COLONIAL TAVERN TO SAINT-ALEXANDRE PUB

The old bricks of the Saint-Alexandre pub owe their patina to a century-old tradition of commerce and hospitality. From 1887, the building housed the shop of a master hatter who had his business on Saint-Jean street until the end of the Second World War.

 

In 1946, the Colonial Tavern opened its doors in this enclosure. Students from Laval University, then located intramural, will meet there for years to perfect their training.

 

Today, Saint-Alexandre Pub is renewing the custom by internationalizing it. Beers from all over the world now water the conversations. For its part, the cuisine strives to honor the beer producing countries by offering regional specialties worthy of the noblest brews.

 

The mahogany woodwork, the mirrors and the bar, which is 12 meters long, add a warm touch to the cozy atmosphere of the Pub. The quality of your presence remains, however, the essential component of the spirit of the place. We appreciate it.

Contact us

1087 St-Jean Street

Quebec City, QC  Canada

G1R 1S3

 

Email: 

pubstalexandre@videotron.ca​

Phone number:

418-694-0015

Hours

 

Monday-Friday

11 h - 3 h

Saturday-Sunday

10 h - 3 h

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc

Find us

© 2020 by Saint-Alexandre Pub

L’histoire du Pub Saint-Alexandre

En 1946, la Taverne Coloniale ouvre ses portes dans cette enceinte qui devient alors pendant des années le rendez-vous branché des étudiants de l'Université Laval. En 1987, lorsque la famille Barré redéfinit la vocation de l'établissement, on y introduit alors des bières des quatre coins du monde et une cuisine offrant des spécialités régionales dignes des brassins les plus nobles. Quant à la décoration, elle se veut invitante et chaleureuse : boiseries d'acajou, miroirs, un bar d'une douzaine de mètres.

Mais il faut rebaptiser l'ancienne taverne de la rue St-Jean. Un soir, au repas, la famille procède à un traditionnel tour de table. Et de tour de table en tour de table, le petit Alexandre, 3 ans, insiste et propose son nom : Alexandre! Alexandre! s'écrie-t-il chaque fois que vient son tour. C'est donc ainsi que l'on baptise le PUB SAINT-ALEXANDRE. Mais l'histoire ne confirme pas si le petit Alexandre est devenu un saint!

 

​DE LA TAVERNE COLONIALE AU PUB SAINT-ALEXANDRE

Les vieilles briques du pub St-Alexandre doivent leur patine à une tradition centenaire de commerce et d'hospitalité. Des 1887, l'édifice accueillait la boutique d'un maitre-chapelier qui a eu pignon sur rue Saint-Jean jusqu'à la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale.

En 1946, la Taverne Coloniale ouvre ses portes dans cette enceinte. Les étudiants de l'Université Laval, alors sise intra-muros, s'y donnent rendez-vous pendant des années afin de parfaire leur formation.

Aujourd'hui, le Pub Saint-Alexandre vient renouveler la coutume en l'internationalisant. Les bières venues des quatre coins du monde arrosent maintenant les conversations. De son côté, la cuisine s'applique à faire honneur aux pays producteurs de bière en offrant des spécialités régionales dignes des brassins les plus nobles.

Les boiseries d'acajou, les miroirs et le bar, long d'une douzaine de mètres, ajoutent une touche chaleureuse à l'atmosphère feutrée du Pub. La qualité de votre présence demeure toutefois la composante essentielle de l'esprit des lieux. Nous vous en sommes gré.

Contactez-nous

1087 Rue Saint-Jean

Québec, QC  Canada

G1R 1S3

Courriel : 

pubstalexandre@videotron.ca​

Téléphone :

418-694-0015

Heures d'ouvertures

 

Lundi au dimanche

11 h - 3 h

Samedi et Dimanche

10 h - 3 h

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc

Trouvez-nous

© 2020 par le Pub Saint-Alexandre.